Pioneer Races To Girls State Track Title

“What else can be said but wow,” said Coach Nancy Shafer Boudreau after her Pioneers ran off with the 2017 MHSAA State Title on Saturday at East Kentwood High School.

Pioneer racked up 69 points at the Division 1 finals, four more points than second-place Oak Park as the Pioneers capped off an amazing run with the biggest prize of all.

It was a two-team race all day between Pioneer and Oak Park, the three-time defending state champions.

“The teams traded the lead all day and it came down to the last event of the day,” Shafer Boudreau said, who called the battle “epic.”

“Right before the 4×400 relay, it was announced that Pioneer had a 10-point lead. Thus, all the girls had to do was place in the top 8 to seal the victory. What a fantastic day.”

The 4x400m relay team of Stella Weinberg, Alexa Easter, Triniah Johnson and Hailey Mayes ran its fastest time of the year to get fifth place (3 minutes, 56.96 seconds) and seal the team victory.

“Everyone had a role to play in this victory and everyone came through like the true champions (they are),” Shafer Boudreau said.

East Kentwood was third with 57 points, followed by Rockford (30) and Plymouth (26). Skyline finished with eight points to take 27th place.

Britten Bowen defended her title with a most impressive victory, breaking the all-time state record in the 100-meter hurdles and, of course, the school record (13.40 seconds).

Anne Forsyth followed with a new school record to win in the 1600 run (4:43.84).

Other individuals scoring included Britten Bowen in the 100 (6th place, 12.36), Hailey Mayes in the 400 (4th place, 56.75), Alice Hill in the 800 (3rd place, 2:11.85), Jacalyn Overdier in the 1600 (7th place, – 4:55.71) and 3200 (7th place, 10:41.38), and Forsyth in the 3200 (2nd, 10:27.70).

Only one of the four relays stayed intact from the Regional meet and that relay had a last minute substitution at the Regional.

The 4×800 relay (Ane Forsyth, Libby Kos, Sydney Dawes, Jacalyn Overdier) started the day off with a win, defending the title they won last year (9:06.13).

The 4×100 relay (Cori Griffin, Janea Pryor, Shelby Hall, Britten Bowen) ran the third fastest time in PHS history to grab third place (47.75).

The 4×200 relay (Triniah Johnson, Shelby Hall, Cori Griffin, Hailey Mayes) ran its second fastest time of the year to garner sixth place (1:42.45).

Tags from the story
Written By
More from Terry Jacoby

Girls Hockey: Pioneers knock off visiting Walled Lake 10-3  

The Pioneer girls’ hockey team broke open a close game with four...
Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *