UMMA Director Hosts Open Office Hours 

Christina Olsen, director of the University of Michigan Museum of Art (UMMA), wants to chat.

Olsen, now a little more than two months into her term, will host open office hours in the UMMA Commons starting next week, February 5-6. She is inviting visitors, U-M staff and faculty, students, and community members to drop in and talk one-on-one about the Museum, ways it might change, and to ask questions.

“I want to hear from the people that care about this Museum, and who want to shape its future,” Olsen says. “UMMA needs to be open to new ideas. A great way to get new ideas is by talking with people face to face.”

Open office hours dates and times include:

Monday, Feb. 5 from noon to 1 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 6 from 4–5 p.m.
Monday, Feb. 12 from noon to 1 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 13 from 4–5 p.m.

Monday, March 5 from noon to 1 p.m.
Tuesday, March 6 from 4–5 p.m.
Monday, March 12 from noon to 1 p.m.
Tuesday, March 13 from 4–5 p.m.

Monday, April 2 from noon to 1 p.m.
Tuesday, April 3  from 4–5 p.m.
Monday, April 9 from noon to 1 p.m.
Tuesday, April 10 from 4–5 p.m.

Olsen will talk with visitors on a first-come, first-serve basis. Visitors should queue near the director’s table in the UMMA Commons.

Olsen started her tenure at UMMA on October 30, 2017, and was previously the director of the Williams College Museum of Art. In her first year, Olsen plans to present ambitious exhibitions centered on today’s issues, take a fresh look at UMMA’s galleries and public spaces, and unveil a new installation focused on abstraction and race in the early 1970s.
About UMMA

UMMA is one of the oldest and largest art museums in the country, serving a worldwide academic community, as well as regional K-12 schools and public audiences. The museum welcomes more than 250,000 onsite visitors each year.

Tags from the story
Written By
More from Terry Jacoby

Profile: Skyline’s Kendal Murray keeps focus on team and family

After knocking off city rival Huron in a classic back-and-forth SEC Red...
Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *