Swimming: Eagles more than hold their own with Brother Rice, West Ottawa


The Skyline swimming and diving team hosted a tri-meet featuring elite programs Birmingham Brother Rice and Holland West Ottawa on Saturday and all three teams left with some impressive performances.

Skyline’s 200-yard medley relay team of Sam Konigsberg, David Cleason, Michael MacGillivray and Wilson Noll placed second with a time of 1 minute, 37.19 seconds.

Skyline’s Samuel Jyawook won the 200 freestyle with a time of 1:43.76. Keith Kozma was fourth in 1:48.18.
MacGillivray took first place in the 200 IM with a time of 1:52.13. Konigsberg was sixth in 2:04.41.

Cleason sprinted to a third-place finish in the 50 free with a time of 22.21 seconds. Noll was seventh (22.58) and Shane MacNeil was eighth (23.50).

Henry Schirmer dominated the diving with a score of 322.35 points. Teammate Andrew Ceely was second with 181.95 points.

Cleason touched second in the butterfly with a time of 52.53. Ben Keith was fourth in 55.05.

Noll swam third in the 100 free in 50.20. MacNeil was sixth in 51.34.

Jyawook returned to the winner’s circle after touching first in the 500 freestyle with a time of 4:43.70. Kozma touched third in 4:53.64.

The Eagles swam second in the 200 free relay. The team of Noll, Kozma, Jyawook and Kareem El-Tawil finished in 1:31.31. The team of MacNeil, Derek Mrachko, Keegan Gardner and Jon Crowe took fifth in 1:36.85.

Konigsberg touched second in the 100 backstroke in 54.49. Matteo Procoppe was fifth (58.40) and Atticus Dewey was sixth (58.77).

MacGillivray made his way back to the winner’s circle by finishing first in the 100 breaststroke in 57.17. El-Tawil was seventh in 1:04.53.

The foursome of Cleason, MacGillivray, Kozma and Jyawook was second in the 400 free relay with a time of 3:14.59.

Tags from the story
Written By
More from Terry Jacoby

Girls Lacrosse: Pioneers stick it to Saline 15-6

 The season is coming together for the Pioneer girls’ lacrosse team. On...
Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *