All three local swimming and diving teams splash it up at Huron Relays


Huron High School hosted the annual Huron Relays on Thursday night and the  event not only features the three Ann Arbor girls’ swimming and diving teams but also includes area powerhouses such as Saline, Northville and Dexter.

Saline finished first in the eight-team event with 412 points. Northville was second (398 points) with Brighton third (384 points). The local teams had a strong showing with Pioneer fourth (372), Skyline fifth (316) and Huron seventh (294).

In the 200 medley relay, the Pioneer team of Holly Pringle, Edwina Jalet, Lindsay Orringer-Hau and Amelia Weyhing finished second in 1:49.11. Skyline’s team of Madison Deininger, Emma Pettigrew, Claire Kozma and Alison Lock touched sixth in 1:56.42. Huron’s foursome of Clara Bowman, Anna Leone, Olivia Figueroa and Zannah Baker finished eighth in 2:00.68.

In the 400 freestyle relay, Huron’s team of Yu Jin Hyun, Abbey Ketslakh, Emily Tran and Annaliese Streeter finished third overall in 3:40.22. Hyun is a senior and the other three Huron swimmers are just sophomores. Skyline’s foursome of Casey Chung, Hannah Jyawook, Alison Lock and Claire Kozma finished fourth in 3:40.50. Jyawook and Kozma are both freshman. Pioneer’s team of Quoia Sam, Autumn Bullinger, Vivian VanRenterghem and Katie Capelli was sixth in 3:44.98.

Pioneer’s team of Abby Mehraban, Lily Cramer, Edwina Jalet and Holly Pringle finished second to Brighton with a time of 4:08.93 in the 400 IM relay. The team featured three freshman and a sophomore (Mehraban). Skyline’s team of Madison Deininger, Ella Sadler, Aly Guevara and Casey Chung was fourth in 4:24.40. Huron’s foursome of Ayaka Sakamoto, Kristina Holcombe, Amaris Beal and Emma Kaipainen splashed in at No. 8 with a time of 5:12.22.

Pioneer earned a trip to first place in the 200 butterfly relay as the team of Lindsay Orringer-Hau, Jeannie Liu, Abby Mehraban and Lily Cramer won with a time of 1:50.11. Huron’s team of Olivia Figueroa, Anna Leone, Susan Dowling and Yu Jin Hyun was fifth overall in 1:57.37. Skyline’s team of Hannah Jyawook, Gina Sadler, Allison Haak and Ella Enrique-Shakespeare was sixth in 1:57.85.

In the 200 backstroke relay, Pioneer’s team of Holly Pringle, Autumn Bullinger, Quoia Sam and Grace Stephan touched third in 1:51.66. Skyline’s team of Angela Noble, Lucy Palacios, Aly Guevara and Ella Enrique-Shakespeare was seventh in 2:07.87. Huron’s team of Emily Tran, Kathryn Hemmila, Faith Baker and Kristina Holcombe was eighth in 2:08.54.

Skyline took first place overall in the 800 free relay as the team of Hannah Jyawook, Allison Haak, Ella Sadler and Claire Kozma won with a time of 7:56.81. Pioneer was fourth as the team of Katie Capelli, Vivian VanRenterghem, Abby Mehraban and Lindsay Orringer-Hau touched in 8:05.23. Huron’s team of Abbey  Ketslakh, Ezgi Poyraz, Zannah Baker and Ayaka Sakamoto was seventh in 9:00.58.

The Pioneer team of Amelia Weyhing, Jenni Krzeczkowski, Edwina Jalet and Lily Cramer placed second in the 200 breaststroke relay with a time of 2:06.49. The Skyline four pack of Sophia Kunisaki, Alison Lock, Emma Pettigrew and Aly Guevara was fifth in 2:16.94. Huron’s team of Annaliese Streeter, Anna Leone, Elizabeth Li and Faith Baker was seventh in 2:17.89.

In the 200 freestyle relay, Skyline’s team of Casey Chung, Ella Sadler, Allison Haak and Madison Deininger placed fourth in 1:40.98. Huron’s team of Yu Jin Hyun, Annaliese Streeter, Abbey Ketslakh and Emily Tran was fifth in 1:41.26. Pioneer’s foursome of Vivian VanRenterghem, Quoia Sam, Katie Capelli and Amelia Weyhing was sixth in 1:42.17.

In the 2×50 diving relay, Skyline took first place followed by Huron, Saline and Dexter. Pioneer was sixth overall.

Tags from the story
Written By
More from Terry Jacoby

On the board: Pioneers rout Riverview for first win of the season

 Sporting their new road jerseys patterned after the iconic Montreal Canadians, the...
Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *