Swimming: Skyline opens season with convincing win over Canton


The Skyline boys’ swimming and diving team made a big splash in their season opener on Tuesday. Not only did they dunk host Canton 140-45 but they also impressed their coach – and that’s not always an easy thing to do.

“I am so pleased with this team,” said Skyline Coach Mo-Jo Murrett. “We have tremendous leadership from the senior class. And our freshman class has been so much fun to coach already. And (Tuesday) they really made a statement. As a group they are fun and talented and a great addition to our team.”

The Eagles also have a very talented and dedicated group of upperclassmen.
“I’m very pleased with our upperclassman have come in as far as fitness level and ability to train,” Murrett said. “We are considerably further ahead of where we were last year at this time.”

This combination of youth and experience added up to bad news for Canton. The Eagles dominated from start to finish, winning every individual event and all three relays.

The Eagles opened with a win in the medley relay as the team of Ben Kurniawan, Ben Keith, Kareem El-Tawil and Shane MacNeil touched first in 1 minute, 42.55 seconds.

Keith Kozma went 1:49.32 to take first in the 200 freestyle with Atticus Dewey second in 1:57.04. Keith won the 200 IM in 2:03.59.

In the 50 freestyle, the Eagles went one-two-three with Kyle Tschannen first (22.38), El-Tawil second (23.47) and MacNeil third (24.26).

Kozma won his second race of the night when he took first in the 100 free with a time of 50.06.

The Eagles went one-two in diving with Henry Schirmer first (284.80 points) and Andrew Ceely second (187.20).

The Eagles swept the butterfly as Keith took first in 54.28 followed by Ben Kurniawan (54.64) and Matthew Lee (58.95).

Tschannen went the distance to win the 500 free in 5:02.78. Evan McKelvey was third in 5:22.25.

The Skyline foursome of Kozma, MacNeil, McKelvey and Tschannen won the 200 free relay in 1:42.47.

The Eagles also swept the backstroke with Kurniawan taking first in 55.33 followed by Atticus Dewey (59.30) and Ben Deininger (1:01.86).

El-Tawil won the breaststroke in 1:04.24 with Alex Kurniawan in third (1:09.56).

The team of Tschannen, Keith, Kozma and Ben Kurniawan won the 400 free relay in 3:19.53.



Tags from the story
Written By
More from Terry Jacoby

Local author Virginia Ford tells story of “standing her ground” with polio  

 Virginia Ford had always wanted to tell her story – one about...
Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *