Swimming: Pioneer tops Huron in dual-meet filled with photo finishes


The season continues to swim along magically for Pioneer.

The Pioneer boys’ swimming and diving team used its impressive depth to knock off talented Huron 117-69 in an SEC cross-town dual-meet on Tuesday.

The Pioneers opened things up by going one-two-three in the opening medley relay. The foursome of Luis Miranda, Vaughn Hajra, Shashank Chandru and Gabriel Labadie won the medley relay with a time of 1 minute, 40.93 seconds. Pioneer also took second as the team of Matthew Segal, Henry Cramer, Henri Schneehagen and Caleb Rice went 1:41.11. The Pioneer team of Ryan Hume, Kenji Wagner, Anthony Gibbons and Samuel Fonte went 1:41.11.

The Huron team of Ji Ung Hyun, Kevin Zhou, Dylan Schmitzerle and Brian Moskus took fourth in 1:46.93.

Huron’s Eli Atkinson raced to a first place in the 200 freestyle with a time of 1:47.77. Pioneer’s Robert Yang was second in 1:50.16 and Huron’s Dane Hubers was third in 1:51.36.

In the 200 IM, Pioneer’s Cameron Williston went 2:02.98 to finish first. Huron’s Jonathan Wang was second (2:06.49) and Pioneer’s Ryan Hume was third (2:06.99).

Segal won the 50 freestyle with a time of 21.78, a D-1 state cut time. Huron’s AJ Stewart was second (23.01) and Pioneer’s Rice was third (23.48).

Huron’s Kyle Huehn won the diving with 281.15 points. Pioneer’s Cole Tremewan was second (247.45) and teammate Max Rolla-Mullus was third (182.15).

Pioneer’s Miranda touched first in the butterfly with a time of 53.26. Huron’s Stewart was second (54.52) and Pioneer’s Vaughn Hajra was third (57.64).

Cramer went 50.40 to win the 100 freestyle for the Pioneers. Hubers touched second for Huron in 50.59 and Yang was third (50.60) for Pioneer.

Atkinson won his second race of the day for the River Rats when he touched first in the 500 freestyle with a time of 4:56.41. Pioneer’s Segal was second in 4:58.72 and teammate Alex Farmer was third (5:00.75).

Huron (Stewart, Wang, Jiang and Atkinson) took first in the 200 free relay with a time of 1:33.33. Pioneer (Cramer, Chandru, Yang and Farmer) was second in 1:33.33 (22.88). The Pioneer team of Rice, Jaworski, Labadie and Segal was third in 1:33.68 (23.96) and the Pioneer team of Hajra, Fonte, Jack Shemke and Jack DeBona was fourth in 1:33.85 (21.55).

Williston won his second individual race for the Pioneers when he went 56.62 to take first in the backstroke. Hume was second for Pioneer in 57.63 and Hyun was third for Huron in 57.93.

It was another close finish in the breaststroke. Zhou won for Huron in 1:02.51 with Pioneer’s Henri Schneehagen in second in 1:02.75. Pioneer’s Gibbons was third in 1:04.12.

The 400 free relay was another close finish in a meet of close finishes.

Pioneer (Yang, Labadie, Williston and Miranda) took first in 3:22.19. Huron (Wang, Jiang, Hubers and Atkinson) was second in 3:24.88 and Pioneer (Chandru, McDonough, Cramer and Farmer) was third in 3:24.93.

Tags from the story
Written By
More from Terry Jacoby

Boys Hockey: FGR-Greenhills skates to D3 Regional title with 6-0 win

 The Father Gabriel Richard-Greenhills boys’ hockey team broke open its Regional final...
Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *