Pioneer presents the 63rd annual Concerto Concert Thursday


The Pioneer High School music department presents the 63rd annual Concerto Concert at 7 p.m. on Thursday, March 14 in the Schreiber Auditorium at Pioneer HS. Admission and parking are free.

For the past 63 years, the Concerto Concert has showcased the skill and dedication of Pioneer High Schools student-musicians. How we wish that each of the fine young musicians on the stage could perform a concerto, alas, only six were chosen from a deep pool of talent and musicality.

This year, the Slauson and Tappan Orchestra will start the show!  When Orchestra Night was cancelled, these young musicians chose to bring their well-practiced pieces to Pioneer. What a wonderful way to see the full spectrum of musical mastery: from middle school to senior year!

Supporting these seniors is the Pioneer A Cappella Choir. And the Pioneer Symphony and Chamber Orchestras, who have worked tirelessly with each soloist.

This concert is not to be missed!  However, if you can’t get to Schreiber Auditorium, the Concerto Concert will be live Streamed at:

This year’s Concerto Concert program:

Slauson Concert Orchestra: Under the direction of: Sara Gibson, Paul Bailey
Danza -Vaclav Nelhybel
Jupiter-Bringer of Jollity from “The Planets” – Gustav Holst, arr. Leidig

Tappan Concert Orchestra: Under the direction of: Julia Knowles, Kathleen Ford

On a Hymnsong of Philip Bliss -David R. Holsinger
Egmont Overture –Ludwig van Beethoven, arr. Meyer

A Cappella Choir and Pioneer Chamber Orchestra
This House of Peace- Ralph M. Johnson (b. 1955)
Choral verses adapted by Ralph M. Johnson from The Edge of Glory by David Adam
Introducing this year’s Concerto performers, w/ the Pioneer Symphony Orchestra:

John Zijian Yang, Violin
Violin Concerto no. 2 in D minor, Op. 22 –  Henryk Wieniawski (1835- 1880)
I. Allegro moderato in D minor/F major

Mia Galbraith, Soprano
Laurie’s Song from The Tender Land – Aaron Copland (1900 – 1990)

Daniel Hirshbein, Oboe
Oboe Concerto in One Movement, op. 45 – Eugene Goossens (1893-1962)

Danniell Hu, Violin
Zigeunerweisen, Op. 20 – Pablo de Sarasate (1844 – 1908)

Dabao Zhang, Alto Saxophone
Concertino da Camera –  Jacques Ibert (1890-1962)

Alon Hayut, Cello
Variations on a Rococo Theme Op. 33 – Pytor Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)
Theme, Variation 1,2, cadenza, 6, 7

Meet the soloists:

Tags from the story
More from Special to Discover Communities

Theatre NOVA Announces its Michigan Playwrights Festival

 Theatre NOVA, Ann Arbor’s professional theatre with an exclusive focus on new...
Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *